…and we’ve circled back.

This quarter, I’m teaching reading, and in some ways this is my actual dream. I love reading, and I’m still really excited to share this love with my students.

But we’re back to the baby-bird syndrome, something that I noticed in my grammar class during the first quarter (it’s now the third quarter).

In Grammar, I’d figured out that the way to wean the students from relying on me to directly spit my pre-chewed knowledge into their mouths was through self-directed companion worksheets. I made worksheets that they used to dig through the text to figure out grammar points on their own, and then they practiced mostly on their own.

When we went over the material, it was a lot of them telling me the treasures they’d found and me tweaking their understanding of the rules.

With reading, I suppose I haven’t quite found my groove, and I worry that it’s negatively impacting my students. I’m still in the trenches, and I’m doing my best to give them engaging material, to activate their schema and to practice what we’ve learned–but things don’t really seem to be sticking,

a fact that is definitely reflected in their test scores.

For a couple weeks, I had students doing silent reading in class every day, and we went over the tests together as a class. This seemed to result in a positive uptick in test scores, but I was worried that I wasn’t spending enough time on explicitly teaching everything in the course plan (we have course plans that detail the subjects/skills we should cover each week).

So, for a couple weeks, I dialed back the silent reading to once per week and stopped covering the tests in class.

This has resulted in a noticeable downswing in test scores. Of course, there’s also the chance that I’m not doing the right kind of practices, but to me it looks like the reading skills simply aren’t sticking.

So I think we’re going to go back to plan A–more silent reading, more discussion of plot for The Giver, and more explicit correction in errors. We still have two more quizzes for the quarter, and I’d like to see students’ test scores come up again before the final exam.

The students have told me that reading is getting easier for them, but I’m not seeing it reflected in an academic context and I’d like to.

That’s all, for now.

